Kosmor Forum Index
 Search Imprint      SearchSearch     Log inLog in 
 Search Legal      MemberlistMemberlist     ProfileProfile   

New player

 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Kosmor Forum Index -> Bug-Reports
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Liam
Guest





PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2004 17:06    Post subject: New player Reply with quote

When a new player creates his account in Kosmor, he'll come to the smallest house in the area, right?

But I think it's not good, if one the left side is Arabia, in the middle Gimpel and one the right side is Arabia too!!! One side must be their own house or Gimpel, but not Arabia!

I hope you understand me

Greetings
Surst
Back to top
Merthos
Guest





PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2004 17:21    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, the newbie spawning algo is really weird.

Look at this:


That is definitely to close, even if you assume 50% loss.
Back to top
Aurion
Member of the House


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 591
Location: Alpha Section

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2004 18:01    Post subject: Reply with quote

And i think it isn't good to add most new players to one player. Yes, perhaps he will get independent and found his own house, but then? He will conquer the other, now smaller house and it begins again.

We saw this in the German Kosmor, why should it be different now?


And yes, the placing is to close. There are sometimes more than four houses in a distance of 100 Ly, and the four sections where players started see another after only 11 Rounds. And the first five rounds nobody did move because nobody knew that the game is on. So only six rounds have passed and it is nearly like in the German version.

As soon as some people get ships there will be only a few houses left..
_________________
Member of the House Aurion in the house Ashera
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ayatollah
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 03:56    Post subject: Reply with quote

yap... maybe there wouldnt be so much "loss" if the newbies could expand Wink

Generally im a little disappointed about the player placing. Wasnt it supposed that the players start in some distance to each other ?

At the moment it seems the placing is like that:



I think it would have been alot more intresting if the diffrent players would have started in larger distances to each other.....
Back to top
Maelstroem
Commander


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 430
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 08:37    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. I've changed the placement algorithm a little bit.

HPs of newbies now have to be more distant to warplanets of other players.

Merthos: as you can see, none of the four people has moved. So they will probably gone in 4 days as they seem to be inactive...

Bye,
Maelstroem
_________________
Commander Maelstroem in the house Nemesis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Aurion
Member of the House


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 591
Location: Alpha Section

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 09:38    Post subject: Reply with quote

The people on the map above didn't move, but most of the people move, and all got places so close together.

But if you changed it... we will see if it is better now Twisted Evil
_________________
Member of the House Aurion in the house Ashera
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Liam
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 11:16    Post subject: Reply with quote

But this isn't the problem I wanted to talk about. I'm unfortunately I can't show you my map, so I have to describe the situation. In my house, in the middle, is one player. Not gimpel, Arabia! And Arabia is on the left side of my house and on the right too! THIS can't be! The newbies were joined to the wrong house, because my was a little bit larger then Arabia!!!
Back to top
Maelstroem
Commander


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 430
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 11:24    Post subject: Reply with quote

Surst, I understand your problem.

Let me tell you the following.

First, a "small" house is chosen where the newbie should be attached to
(in your case, it was arabia).

Second, a suitable position is located. In your case it was a bit unsuitable, I admit.

But in effect, the right house (Arabia) got the newbie, because it was smaller at that time.

Bye,
Maelstroem
_________________
Commander Maelstroem in the house Nemesis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Liam
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 11:29    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, that you understand me. But I can't buy anything from it. Arabia has an player in the middle of my house, now ships to conquer, they see a little bit, now problem. Well, i must speak with my subordinates, we need ships to conquer them quickly, before more of them spy on my house. F*** system, I must say.
Back to top
darky
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 04:11    Post subject: Reply with quote

one other big problem ...

you try to reach a planet 3 ... you set a waypoint and go for it ... x days after launching the flight your recognize that the planet is now a class 2 system with an player on it... cool, x days for nothing. This happen quite a lot when you are in a low-player-area.
Back to top
LordDekar
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 04:55    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah Darky is right. Can you change the Algorithm in that way, that New Players will only spawn on lvl. 2 Planets, because it is annoying to see a lvl.3 Planet getting smaller in front of ur eyes and it is even not logical Smile
(Ok maybe the Warplanet is made out of a bit off the Homeplanet but i donīt think so)
Back to top
Merthos
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 06:16    Post subject: Reply with quote

But on the other hand, if they leave, there is a good chance to get the lvl 3 planet back.

Three of the players above left and all three home planets are lvl 3 now. Smile
Back to top
Maelstroem
Commander


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 430
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 06:30    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, like I said, the placement algorithm has been changed, see here:

http://www.kosmor.com/forum_int/viewtopic.php?p=36843#36843

@darky: if you set course to a size-3 system which is away less than 3 days of travel (~90 ly) no newbie should be placed there, as your warplanet is too close now.

I will close this thread now. If any new placement irregularities arise, just open another one.

Bye,
Maelstroem
_________________
Commander Maelstroem in the house Nemesis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Kosmor Forum Index -> Bug-Reports All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group